Identity Crisis

Hello everyone, this Kay G. yet again with something else to talk about. Haven’t made my quota in a while so, I have a lot of catching up to do, ha.

So, I just finished reading multiple comics but the one I want to talk about today is,  “Identity Crisis” by Brad Meltzer, it’s an oldie but a goodie (well I suppose not that old, but still). I’ve been still trying to play catch up on all the comics I’ve been behind on, and still thanks to my partner my pile here keeps on growing. He’s definitely the go to person when it comes to comics; I like to refer to him as my human Wiki, believe me ask him anything (can’t promise it will be short or you’ll like the results though lol). As for me I do my best and enjoy the stories that I read which brings me back to my main topic at hand, “Identity Crisis.”

The only way I can keep describing this story is, well in lack of betters words; “this shit is so fucked up.” Let me explain to you what I mean, without giving too much away….I hope.  This story all starts when Sue Dibny, wife of Elongated man (a character I’m not very familiar with) is murdered in her own home.  This shakes up the entire superhero community, mourning for her lose they go in search of her killer. In doing so, a whole bunch of secrets are leaked out, and basically all hell breaks loose.

Elongated Man and wife Sue

The Funeral

I like the way this story unfolds, it’s like a mini mystery novel where a there’s a secret found out everywhere you turn and truth of past events come out to play. It’s like putting together a puzzle, but not knowing and trying to figure out what the final outcome will be. This story is phenomenal in its storytelling. Meltzer does a good job bringing to life these characters.  You feel for them, and go through the emotions with them. There was even a moment when I almost cried. All the characters are struggling within themselves on what is right and what is wrong. It is the first time, I’ve read or seen superhero’s really struggle with whom they are, what their identity is and if revenge is the right way to go. What I like most about this story is that you see heroes are not as black and white as they’re usually portrayed to be. As Green Arrow says more than once in this story is, “there’s a little bit of Bruce/Batman in all of us.” Meaning there’s a little bit of darkness in all of them.

“I chose this life. I know what I’m doing. And on any given day, I could stop doing it, today, however, isn’t that day. And tomorrow won’t be either.” –Bruce Wayne

This comic is full of action, violence, grieving, sexual assault, lies and so much more. It’s so different than anything I’ve read.  It’s so disturbing that you can’t help but to keep reading, just to see what is about to happen next.  I love how the story is broken up so that each character is given their own time, to see what their struggle is in the world that they are in. We see these superhero’s flawed, and actually portrayed as real humans, other then what they’re portrayal to the whole world. I also like the way the comic written. Meltzer writes it like a script so that it reads like it’s a movie, with plot twists and dramatic realizations. The art work by Rags Morales, is also great with rich and bold colors, he does a great job spotlighting the main characters and shadowing the background characters when needed.

By far, the best part of this story is the ending. I was not expecting what happened at all. In the course of the story, the villain is never certain. They reveal one just to show that it could be another, all to find it out it was someone you would never expect. All the while so many lives were destroyed, lost and possibly even ruined. “Identity Crisis” is by far on one my top stories that need to be read, and it will not disappoint you. The whole thing is the mystery that is waiting to be solved, and you’ll enjoy figuring it out along the way. So pick it up and read it for yourself and you too will be saying, “how fucked up” this story really is.

Leave a Reply

