Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Hello everyone this is Kay. G it’s been awhile I know but, life as always gets busy. At least I know my partner D.C has been keeping you plenty entertained.  Ok enough with that, lets get to the point.

Recently I got the opportunity to be a part of the wonderful experience of the release of new Harry Potter book, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Parts 1 & 2”. It was so nice being a part of something so magical again; it’s been over 10 years since the last book was released in 2007. Just give you all a small background about me; I’m a very big Harry Potter fan, so when I heard about this release I was ecstatic. A total Potterhead getting ready for the big day, and it was very much worth the wait. I ended up starting and finishing this book in a day. Not to fool you as anticipated and good as this book was, it wasn’t what I expected it to be.

Last scene from “Deathly Hallows part 2” (19 years later)

 

Pros:

First off let’s start off with the pros. As I opened this book I could almost taste the butterbeer, smell the sweets at Honeydukes and hear the roaring cheers of a Quidditch Match. I was like a kid, reminiscing in my childhood and remembering what it was like when I picked up each new book of the Harry Potter series.  Those of you who have read the entire series in full know that in the end of book seven it is 19 years later; well this is where this book picks up. We’re back on the Hogwarts express on platform 9 ¾ and the feeling I got reading that was comforting. Harry Potter to me was like, a security blanket, something that I could hold on to remember good I felt every time I finished a book. I must have read this series at least 10 times. My books are so worn out you can barely read the spine to them anymore. With all that said let’s get back to the story at hand. Harry, Hermione and Ron are still as glorious as ever but this is not their story. This story is about Albus Severus Potter, the youngest son of Harry and Ginny Potter. This story is his journey and his adventures with his own best friend. Albus feels like he lives in the shadows of who Harry is, and what he represents.  The son of the “boy who lived” isn’t easy and Albus has to find his own way.

“… And being alone — that’s so hard. I was alone. And it sent me to a truly dark place. For a long time. Tom Riddle was also a lonely child. You may not understand that, Harry, but I do …”   -Draco Malfoy

Harry, Albus and Ginny Potter (London Play)

The great part of this book is of course of seeing the gang back together again, all grown like me (ha), dealing with not only magical issues but real issues. They deal with issues such as raising their kids, doing their job and still trying to make their world safe for the wizards and muggles alike. This story still gives hope to the reader, still gives the reader something to hold on to, something to inspire to. It’s a magical journey that shifts through the fabric of time. We get to meet new characters and get introduced to new stories, along with reliving some historical moments in the Harry Potter world. This book like the rest of them teaches you lessons, such as love, friendship and what really matters most in the world. It teaches you that events, little or big all tie together for a reason in life and anything changed can come with drastic consequences.

“There is never a perfect answer in this messy, emotional world. Perfection is beyond the reach of humankind, beyond the reach of magic. In every shining moment of happiness is that drop of poison: the knowledge that pain will come again. Be honest to those you love, show your pain. To suffer is as human as to breathe.

–Dumbledore

 

Cons:

As for the cons, I was little disappointed that some of the characters weren’t in this book. Yes, I know that it’s based on a play so; I understand not all the characters can be seen. With that said, I was at least grateful for the ones that were mentioned, such as Neville.  I mean what happened to Luna, the rest of the Weasley gang, Hagrid, and not to mention Teddy (in case no one remembers is Lupin and Tonk’s kid that Harry is the Godfather of and taking care of)? Teddy was the one I really wanted to see in this new generation. Although, this is a whole new generation, it wasn’t about all of them. Like it was Harry’s story in the original, this story belongs to Albus. Stories can’t continue on forever and I know that, but I was really hoping there would be more to this then some play book. More than anything, I hoped for a novelization, a bigger story with just as much grace and impact as the first seven. This story to me, even though Rowling herself was a part of it, just read like a fanfiction. Don’t get me wrong I still have the book and will cherish it just like I do the rest, but with knowing this story could have been beyond epic it saddened me how small and short the story was. Plus knowing this will be it, this will be the last story according Rowling now there will be in the world of Harry Potter.

“Our journey has only just begun.” –Scorpius Malfoy

With all that said, this book is still a good read a book I would still recommend. It is filled with adventure, and it takes you on a whole different story then what you would expect to take. Sometimes prophecies and legends don’t end where you expect them too, and there is always a follower of dark magic to anticipate. So thank you J.K Rowling for giving me something beautiful to read, with amazing characters and for something to bring back hope into the world of literature. These characters will be remembered for generations to come, and her works will be relieved over and over again throughout the years. I am grateful for all of them.  Get some pumpkin juice for the kids and some butterbeer for the adults, grab some chocolate frogs and every flavor beans and get ready to take a journey with past, present and future to magical world of Harry Potter.

Leave a Reply

