Daredevil: Elektric Connection, Part 1

Welcome, all. D.C. back to throw down on another book. Not a trade or graphic novel this time.

Funny thing is, it’d been many years since I’d bought a single issue of any comic book. After reaching adult age, I finally realized that spending $200 a month of comics was just…well, insane. Unfortunately, Free Comic Book Day broke my fasting with single issues, and I decided to dabble in a few issues for fun again.

I just finished this book:

Daredevil (again!)

For my first sojourn into the All-New, All-Different Marvel initiative, I read up on Daredevil #6. I figured this would be a good jumping-on point for me, since this is the beginning of the storyline “Elektric Connection.”

One of the things I read of Daredevil was that, since Secret Wars, Matt Murdock somehow managed to erase the knowledge of his secret identity from the memories of everyone. I wasn’t particularly happy with this “going back in time” aspect, and I was waiting to see a VERY good reason how Murdock managed that.

By the time Daredevil #6 starts, it’s clear that not only has Murdock’s mindwipe trick not been revealed, but that it has some very serious consequences. Elektra’s appearance is proof of that.

Issue #6 was decent. I had been looking to reading more by Charles Soule since his work on Death of Wolverine, and his take on Daredevil is quickly growing on me. I enjoyed Soule’s showing what goes through Matt’s thoughts, especialy when he sees Elektra for what appears to be the first time in a while. Of course, we see the darkness oozing from Elektra’s pores as much as her beauty.

The art by penciler Matteo Buffagni and colorist Matt Milla, however, caught me off-guard. My initial thought was, “I’m can’t see this fitting the essence of Daredevil well.” The first few pages seemed too block-like to me. The colors by Milla came off as too bright on Daredevil’s costume. Too…electric. Too dissimilar to the ugliness and darkness which rules Hell’s Kitchen.

I’M BLIND!

But as I read through the issue more, the artwork grew on me as much as Soule’s writing. I got used to it, because it became apparent that the color contrast between Daredevil and Matt Murdock is key to this creative team’s run.

The panels of Matt in court and in the bar were shown very well by the art. I did not care for Elektra’s design during her fight with Daredevil, but more so when she appears in Matt’s bail hearing. Buffagni drew the assassin beautifully.

Damn it to Charles Soule, he surprised me with the end of issue #6. It was a twist I hadn’t seen coming, and now “Elektric Connections” provided so many questions in so few pages. What the hell did Murdock do to wipe everyone’s memory of his being Daredevil? What consequences did this wipe have on the backgrounds and minds of those who knew both of his identities–the Black Widow, for example? It’s apparent that it’s affected Elektra’s life in unexpected ways.

And I’m looking forward to the next stage of this arc.

Pick it up! END THROWDOWN.

One response

  1. […] Daredevil #6, part of the All-New, All-Different Marvel initiative […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

